CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR EOS BOARD

This year (2018) is an election year for the EOS Board and there are **four seats** to be filled. We invite you to nominate candidates for election to the Board. Nominations may be made either by letter or by e-mail. If by letter, this must be signed by three EOS members (not including the person nominated). A letter from the person nominated, accepting the nomination, must also be enclosed (or sent separately). If by e-mail, each of the three EOS members supporting the nomination must send in a separate e-mail indicating their support for the candidate. (This is important, as the receipt of three separate e-mails is being accepted in lieu of signatures.) In addition, the person nominated must send an e-mail accepting the nomination. Contact details for both letters and e-mails are given below.

Please note that all four people involved (candidate and three supporters) must be members (Full or Associate) of EOS.

Each EOS member is entitled to nominate up to three candidates for election to the Board. There is no rule to prevent the same three people nominating more than one candidate. We urge you to take advantage of this opportunity to nominate candidates for the election later this year.

For your information, the present EOS Board is:

Björk, Gunnar (Sweden) (term ends 2018) / vacant Setälä, Tero (Finland) (term ends 2018) / vacant

Bertolotti, Mario (Italy) (can be re-elected) Reed, Graham (UK) / secretary (can be re-elected)

Ettemeyer, Andreas (Switzerland) Segonds, Patricia (France) Rendina, Ivo (Italy)

Ex officio Board Members

Urbach, Paul (Netherlands) (Interim President, Past President)

Michinel, Humberto (Spain) (President-Elect: becomes President for 2018-2020)

Denz, Cornelia (Germany) (represents Germany)

Livshits, Irina (Russia) (represents the Affiliated Societies)

Paterson, Carl (UK) (represents UK)

Pauliat, Gilles (France) (Treasurer, represents France)

Sibilia, Concita (Italy) (represents Italy, Sweden, and Switzerland)
Fähnle, Olivier (Switzerland) (Chair of the Industrial Advisory Committee)
Südmeyer, Thomas (Switzerland) (Chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee)

To clarify the above, the vacancies for election by the membership in 2018 are the seats presently occupied by:

Björk, Gunnar (Sweden) Setälä, Tero (Finland) Bertolotti, Mario (Italy) Reed, Graham (UK) / secretary

Bertolotti, Mario (Italy) and Reed, Graham (UK) are eligible to stand for re-election, but must be nominated in the usual way.

Nominations close on 31 March 2018, but it will assist the election organizers if you send your nominations in as soon as possible.

Contact details for nominations:

By letter: Prof. Hans Peter Herzig, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Rue de la

Maladière 71b, CP 526, CH-2002 Neuchatel, Switzerland

By e-mail: hanspeter.herzig@epfl.ch

Professor Hans Peter Herzig Election Officer, EOS Board Elections, 2018